whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Getting My Baby Fix

on February 5, 2012

As a mother of two beautiful girls, my maternal instincts are strong.  I catch myself “being mommy” to anyone under 25.  If I see a toddler stumble, I reach out to steady them.  If I hear a baby crying, I find myself rocking as if to calm her.  If I see an infant, I can not help but gaze at that innocent face and smile.

But sometimes you just know when enough is enough.  On November 25, 2011, my cousin gave birth to a beautiful 4 lb 12 oz baby girl.  I couldn’t wait to get to the hospital and hold her.  I was eager to marvel over how small her hands and feet were.  I wanted to snuggle her in my arms, smell her baby newness, and get what I call “my baby fix.”

It worked.  She was so small, so amazing, and so beautiful, but after about a half hour, I handed her back to her mother and gently kissed the baby’s forehead.

After the usual talk about labor, me babysitting, and my offer to do anything I could to help her, I turned to leave.  I looked back at her holding the baby and smiled as I walked out the door and then I felt myself sigh!

I love babies!  I love children in general, but at age 40, I simply know that I am done having babies, and even after enjoying holding that sweet little gift, I had no longing for one of my own.  There was a time in my life (like 5 years ago) when I would hold a baby and want one, but now, I hold a baby and sigh with relief when I can give it back!

3 responses to “Getting My Baby Fix

  1. Brenda Henley says:

    Gina, I totally understand! That’s the joy of being a grandmother: enjoy and spoil them.

  2. Yes ma’am. Mom reminds me daily how much she loves being a grandmother!! You have the great-grandmother experience coming soon!!

  3. […] question is “Why did you name it that?”  Since this is the one month anniversary for the first post on my first blog, I thought I would share the story that lead to the naming of this great […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

