whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket!

on February 7, 2012

Today I was interrogating.. (cough) I mean asking my five year old, FaFa, questions about her school day because as good parents that is what we are suppose to do.  She had a long face and kept giving me the famous shoulder shrug.

I commented, “You must have had a bad day.”

She sadly said, “My bucket isn’t full.”

“Your what isn’t full?”

“My bucket.”

“What is your bucket?” I asked.

“Mom, your bucket is that thing inside of you that gets full when you are happy because somebody is nice to you.”

“OOH!”

She then proceeded to tell me what happened to keep her bucket from getting full, and though the incident wasn’t life shattering, all I could think was how empty my bucket felt when I knew my baby’s bucket was empty.  So, what does any good mother do when their baby’s bucket isn’t full?  You fill it up – at Diary Queen with a nice big chocolate dipped ice cream cone!!!

I have never quite thought of measuring my happiness by that imaginary bucket that is inside of all of us, but it works.  We all know when we are sad or lonely how empty we feel, and how quickly that emptiness can be replaced by a kind word, a simple smile, or a warm hug.  I promise from now on to be more aware of everyone’s bucket and try to help fill everyone’s bucket with happiness because life is too short to have an empty bucket!

17 responses to “Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket!

  1. Brandy Hutchinson says:

    This is so sweet and so very true! Life is too short yo have empty buckets! And I so know what you mean about how empty your bucket became after hearing fa say her bucket was empty 😦 as mothers, when our babies hurt, we hurt! Just last night Cassidy was upset over an argument with her friend and she sat in my lap and cried, and yes, I cried with her! You never want your children to feel pain and it’s so hard to know that its going to happen, but as their mommy’s we promise to be right there to hold them and cry with them and do whatever we can to, as you and fa say, “fill their buckets” 🙂

    • You are exactly right and that is why I have decide to blog a little because it is nice to know that we “moms” get it and sometimes we work so hard to take care of everyone else our bucket isn’t full — I just want to connect with other moms and share our experiences and feelings and fill our buckets — Brandy share my blog with your friends that I don’t know!! Thanks and ((BIG HUGS))

  2. Brenda Henley says:

    Faith is wise beyond her years!! That brought tears to my eyes. I love how you responded to her. You’re such a great, loving Mom! Hugs to you both!!

  3. It is amazing how insightful kids are! We can learn so much from them… if we can give up the idea that we are the parents and we know everything (which I did pretty much day one.) Thanks for sharing!

  4. […] another WordPress.com site « Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket! Feb […]

  5. gdemarco89 says:

    That is so sweet and I would have done the same thing! I want my baby’s bucket to be full all the time! I am definitely going to look for these books. I have a teacher friend I will have to buy one for as well.

    • It is amazing what we can learn from our children!! I teach high school, but I am going to put some of these lessons in practice. Some of my high school students never have a “full bucket” for various reasons and I want to make a difference. I am glad you enjoyed!! I look forward to reading more on your blog!

  6. […] children step out into the world to create their own experiences.  I love them so much I want to protect them from any hurt.  I want each day to be full of smiles and happiness for them.  They rail against my desire to […]

  7. tdjoshi says:

    “Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket!” is marvellous. I am reminded of the expression, “The child is father of the man.” In the famous poem, The Rainbow, William Wordsworth used this expression. This expression means that all our positive and negative traits are established when we are young. Indeed, if you watch children at play, you will notice them demonstrate certain characteristics which remain with them forever.

    It is necessary to groom children to adopt healthy attitudes and positive traits so that they grow up to be balanced individuals.

  8. Thakor Joshi says:

    “Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket!” is marvellous. I am reminded of the expression, “The child is father of the man.” In the famous poem, The Rainbow, William Wordsworth used this expression. This expression means that all our positive and negative traits are established when we are young. Indeed, if you watch children at play, you will notice them demonstrate certain characteristics which remain with them forever.

    It is necessary to groom children to adopt healthy attitudes and positive traits so that they grow up to be balanced individuals.

  9. “Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket!” is marvellous. I am reminded of the expression, “The child is father of the man.” In the famous poem, The Rainbow, William Wordsworth used this expression. This expression means that all our positive and negative traits are established when we are young. Indeed, if you watch children at play, you will notice them demonstrate certain characteristics which remain with them forever.

    It is necessary to groom children to adopt healthy attitudes and positive traits so that they grow up to be balanced individuals.

  10. […] besides that point, I had another point to make.  A few weeks ago, I wrote a post titled “Life Is Too Short To Have An Empty Bucket“, and now I would like to expound on that topic by discussing an amazing little book that one […]

  11. […] because she exist.  I love her with all my heart and would do anything to ensure her happiness.  I hurt when she hurts.  I am happy when she is happy.  I know many of you parents can relate to this, but there are […]

  12. […] mom sent me this email, and it filled my bucket. So, I thought I would share it with you.  I do not know who the author is but I don’t take […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

