whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Have You Filled A Bucket Today? That Is The Question!

on February 10, 2012
The other day my 5 year old taught me about the concept of filling a bucket.  It was an eye opening experience for me, and I want to send a BIG THANK YOU to FaFa’s kindergarten teacher, Mrs. P., for nurturing my daughter’s soul and not just her mind.  In this hurried world of high stake testing and strong emphasis placed on achievement, it is nice to know that a teacher can still take the time to teach the students a lesson that will change them for the rest of their life.  When I emailed her, she told me that she got the concept from a book titled: Have You Filled A Bucket Today? by Carol McCloud.

  I checked it out and found this review of it: Who could imagine that a 32-page picture book teaching children the benefits of kindness through the metaphor     or a bucket would take off and become one of the most effective character development programs offered to all ages. That’s bucket filling. 

A bucketfilling school is a great place to learn.   A bucketfilling family is a great place to grow up.  A bucketfilling community is a great place to live.   These are places where kindness, respect, fairness, other-centeredness, responsibility, and generosity are seen.

Bucket fillng is easy.  It doesn’t cost any money.  It doesn’t take much time.  It doesn’t matter how young or old you are. Bucket filing makes everyone feel good.  

 Then I found other titles that are built around this concept such as: How Full is Your Bucket?,  

Growing Up with a Bucket Full of Happiness: Three Rules for a Happier Life ,  

and Fill a Bucket: A Guide to Daily Happiness for the Young Child     . What a great series to positively impact our world! I would suggest you run out and buy a copy for yourself and your kids or your grandkids and one to donate to a local school or daycare so that we can continue to spread a very important message.  We need to fill everyone’s bucket daily with a kind word or a warm smile.

Another wonderful book to read is Sneetches and Other Stories by Dr. Seuss. 

12 responses to “Have You Filled A Bucket Today? That Is The Question!

  1. Brandy Hutchinson says:

    Those books look awesome..I will have to look into getting those! I always try to teach my kids to treat others the way they want to be treated. I always tell them to think before the say or do something and ask themselves “how would I feel if someone said/did that to me” and if you think it would make you sad, then its probably the best thing to not say/do it. It is so important to teach our children to have respect for others, because unfortunately alot of kids are lacking in that area now days.

  2. I agree with you o100% I am going to buy some of these to keep at home and then I am going to buy one for Fa’s teacher since she was the one who lead me to the discovery! Thanks for reading — share with your friends please!!

  3. deedee says:

    I bought one and it’s a great book!

  4. […] wrote about a few books for various ages that can also be helpful in your efforts to raise well-mannered children which is […]

  5. […]  Why is that? As parents, we work hard every day to provide a good life for them, read them the right books, shelter them from bad media, engage them in positive activities, and a slew of other things that the […]

  6. […] a local school or daycare so that we can continue to spread a very important message.  We need to fill everyone’s bucket daily with a kind word or a warm […]

  7. […] This morning my husband took Fa to school, and they left before I did.  I got in my car and started backing up.  I looked to my right out of the passenger window and there I saw a note that said “I like you Mom.”  Fa had followed in her Sissy’s footsteps and wrote in the condensation on my car, and it made me laugh and cry all at the same time!  It really filled my bucket! […]

  8. babso2you says:

    I hope that the guest blog from my site filled your bucket! Thank you for the like on my blog! Barb

  9. Cristi says:

    LOve this..

    • I fell in love with it as well when my daughter introduced me to the concept, and several friends have now purchased the books to share with their children and grandchildren. What a positive way to impact the world!

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

