whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Police, child services visit man who shot daughter’s laptop

on February 16, 2012

Nothing scares me more than the thought that someone could or would call Child Protective Services on me regarding my children.  It doesn’t scare me because I do anything wrong, but there are some that misuse this safety net.  Instead of protecting children, some think it is their chance for revenge.  Beyond that, many of the rules and protections that are in place when it comes to police are not necessarily true for Child Protective Services.  Yesterday I posted the video of the man the man who posted a video of himself reprimanding his daughter on Facebook/youtube which ended with him shooting her laptop.  Of course what happened?  He was reported to Child Protective Services.  You can read the entire article here.

I wanted to show you some of the responses toward the original video.  What impressed me the most? These responses are from young adults. (WARNING: SOME OF THESE VIDOES HAVE SOME FOUL LANGUAGE)

I find it interesting that most adults responded with outrage and concern for the child as well as the laptop, but the young adults responded positively acknowledging the importance of being respectful towards your parents and the impression the punishment would have left on them.

The lesson we can all take from this isn’t that we have to have a gun to raise our children, but to raise children semi-successfully, we should do the following:

1)meet the basic needs of our children (food, clothing, shelter, and medical)

2)provide a safe, loving, supportive environment

3)be firm, fair, and consistent with rules and consequences

4)acknowledge our children’s successes

5)most importantly BE A PARENT — we are not here to be their friends — that comes at a much later date in their lives!!

Is my list all encompassing?  Of course not, but it is a good start.

3 responses to “Police, child services visit man who shot daughter’s laptop

  1. […] from my children. « The Loving Story: A True Valentine’s Story Police, child services visit man who shot daughter’s laptop » Feb […]

  2. […] children will pay off in the future for you and them.  Children desire structure and guidance as seen in these videos posted on youtube by young adults.  We have an obligation to provide that structure and guidance […]

  3. […] I am raising a teenager, I know why some animals eat their young? Now please don’t go call social service on me.  I am not actually going to eat her, but I am so mad I can spit […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

