whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

As Different as Night and Day

on February 17, 2012

My two girls are as different as night and day.  Don’t believe me.  Watch!!

My Oldest —

My Youngest —

See!  I told you.  Now granted they are 10 years apart, but I never thought my own children could be so different from each other.  My oldest, K, is focused, driven, athletic, organized, and a little OCD at times.   My youngest, FaFa, is creative, free-spirited, laid-back, and a little “I don’t give a crap” at times.  I love the variety and the challenges that they pose for me.

Sometimes though, I see how it can cause tension between them.  K thinks that I let FaFA get away with everything, and maybe she is right.  Maybe I should hold FaFa a bit more accountable.  FaFa thinks that I praise and acknowledge K’s achievements more than hers, and maybe she is right.  Maybe I should celebrate FaFa a bit more.  This need for them to have equality conflicts with my need to acknowledge their individuality.

How do you find that balance without hurting anyone’s feelings?  My girls and I come together a few times a week purely by chance — we lay in bed and laugh and giggle and scream at the antics on shows such as Wipeout or America’s Funniest Videos, or sometimes we start out “snuggling”, but that quickly turns into an all out brawl with tickling and wrestling that leaves me breathless and the girls happy.

I don’t know if I will ever find the balance of raising them equally while acknowledging their differences, but there is no denying that they have at least two things in common: first, they have my love from beginning to end regardless, and two, they love each other and have each other’s back even if they would like to deny it.  I know it is true when FaFa ask me, “Mommy, where is my Sissy?” or when I here K yelling, “FaFa come here I have something to show you.”  I smile to myself because that sisterly bond between them will never be broken!

I may not have the answer to the question: how do you find that balance without hurting anyone’s feelings? But I do know that day and night go together just like love and marriage or a horse and carriage.  See, God always knows what he is doing!!

3 responses to “As Different as Night and Day

  1. […] have acknowledge that my 2 girls are as different as day and night.  As they grow older, I have to also accept that I can only provide them with tools that will help […]

  2. […] to my two girls by slapping them around a little.  You know a little daughter/mother bonding time wrestling!!  I had managed to lock my oldest out of the house, and my youngest and I were running around to […]

  3. […] Fa has been dancing for two years now, she was excited to find the ballerina outfit, and it was quickly added to the […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

