whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Chardon High School Shooting In Ohio

on February 27, 2012

Another school shooting with one dead and four other students wounded.

As a teacher and as a parent, this is a very scary situation.  Even if you don’t have kids, it should be a very scary situation because the frequency of such events should be a clear indication that we are not headed in a very positive direction.  I am not calling for more government intervention.  I don’t think the schools are responsible.  I am not asking for a new bullying program.  Simply, I think we as parents have to step up and parent our children.  All of us have to parent.  I am probably preaching to the choir at this point, but I don’t know who else to preach to.

We have become so reliant on the government to make rules and regulations to tell us how to live.  Well, it doesn’t work.  The schools can not raise our children – they shouldn’t teach our kids about sex; they shouldn’t provide drug education or gun safety education.  The schools need to teach our children to read and write; they should teach our children how to do math; they should educate our children about science and history, but we as parents should teach our children manners, integrity, and respect.  If you want your child to hunt or to know how to handle a gun then teach them.  If you want your children to avoid sex or practice safe sex then teach them.  Research shows over and over that parents are the biggest influence on a child!!

Research is great, but I know for a fact that parents are influential because I had parents, aunts, uncles, and grandparents that raised me.  Obesity — not a problem because when I was young, after breakfast out the door I went!!  I played!  Pregnancy — not a concern because my mother taught me to respect myself and provided me with the knowledge I needed to make good decisions.  Bullying — didn’t even know it existed because if peers were mean to me I removed myself from that situation, and I didn’t bully because my parents taught me to respect people.  I could go on and on, and no, I wasn’t raised in the 50’s either!!

My heart goes out to everyone involved in this tragedy!!  I am in no way saying that the innocent were in anyway responsible for such a horrible act.  Yes, there are lessons to be learned! I said it before and I will say it again — it all starts at home!

2 responses to “Chardon High School Shooting In Ohio

  1. katejohns says:

    Everyone is responsible, but it is to the point where kids are killing kids. So ultimately it is the kid’s fault. So, possibly if everyone works together, more kids will live through high school.
    What I said in my blog post was that schools need to make sure kids do not have weapons at school. It would help if parents did not have weapons at home. And it would help that kids are not bullied bt his peers at school. But I’ve got to say, sounds like he is using bullying as an excuse to kill other kids.
    When I was in middle school, and high school I was bullied because I was tall, and skinny. And guess what I didn’t shoot anybody.
    And with this shooting kids said they read threatening posts by this kid, on either Facebook or Twitter, and they did nothing.
    All I know is one 16 year old is dead, four kids are injured, and many other lives are messed up due to one kid having major problems. And oh yea, he was living with his Grandparents, not his parents due to having a broken home.

    • I believe in the adage that it takes a village to raise a child – so you are right “everyone is responsible.” There are a lot of things that have to change in the public school system, but there are a lot of things that have to change at home! I think we are definitely on the same page. It is a shame that none of the kids took the threats seriously enough to tell someone!

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

