whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

on April 12, 2012
The Lorax (film)

The Lorax (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday,  I went to see the movie The Lorax with my niece, nephew, sister-in-law, and my youngest daughter.  I was very excited for many reasons: 1) I love spending time with my daughter, 2) I love spending time with my niece and nephew, 3) I love spending time with my sister-in-law, and finally my fourth reason, I REEEAAALLLYY wanted to see this movie.  Not too long ago I posted about the late great Dr. Seuss.  I just think he is a genius that we can learn so much from.  I do have to say that I heard that you should read the book before you go see the movie!!

Of course, this movie was basically a social commentary on the importance of us protecting our environment which I think may have been lost on the younger children, but I got it, and to be perfectly honest, I was not very happy about it.  I know protecting the environment is important, and I know that almost everything that Dr. Seuss writes is a social commentary such as The Sneetches and Other Stories, but I think today I just wanted to enjoy the beauty of Dr. Seuss’ words and not think about the ugly consequences.  If I had to focus on the negative side of this movie, I would worry myself sick about recycling and polluting, and I would completely miss the enjoyment I wanted to share with my niece, nephew, sister-in-law, and daughter.

So, to take my mind off this very deep topic, I started pointing out to my sister-in-law which characters reminded me of members of our family.  Have you ever done that when you watch a tv show or movie?  Well, if not you should try it because it can be really funny.  Needless, to say, after I pointed out the character that reminded me of my husband, I thought they were going to have to remove us from the theater because we were laughing so hard!!  Let me share:

So, I felt that Ted, played by Zac Efron,  reminded me so much of my nephew because he is cute as a button, all boy, and gets a little silly around girls.  There was one part in the movie when the girl, Audrey, asked Ted to come in to her house to see something cool, and Ted turns around and sprays breath freshener in his mouth.  At the same time, my sister-in-law and I turned to each other and said, “That is Drew!”

My sister-in-law and I both agreed that Ted’s mom, played by Jenny Slate, fit me.  We came to that conclusion after she started disco dancing and shaking her booty.  My booty seems to draw a lot of attention.  I tried to find a video, but there were none.  I thought of making one and well, that might be the end of my blog!  LOL!  I do wear glasses too, and I think I got a perm one time that made my hair as curly as hers!!

We decided that Grammy Norma, played by Betty White, had to be my mom lovingly referred to as NaNa.  Nana and Grammy Norma love to encourage our children and get one over on us parents.   This video proves it and kinda shows the interactions I have with her on a daily basis.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a picture of the girl I thought was my sister-in-law.  She wasn’t a main character (not implying in anyway that my sis-n-law isn’t a main character), but she was part of a commercial for O’hara Air — bottled air because the air was so bad.  She opened a can of the air, and it blew her beautiful blonde hair back, and she looked so cute and perky and perfect, and well, just like B.

Then we have the Lorax, played by Danny Devito (I think Danny and my brother are the same height)  which we decided was my brother!!  Not that my brother is Mr. Right though he thinks he is (cough,cough) but because he is small and kinda grumpy and funny!  I mean just tatt – up the Lorax, shave his head, and give him some earrings, and you have my brother!!  And there was that one scene when the Lorax fell asleep next to the Once-ler who wakes up screaming which in turn wakes the Lorax up who screams and then reflexively punches the Once-ler in the face, and well, my bother has been known to do that!!

The one connection that sent us in to hysteria was that my husband was the biggest Barbaloot which is a teddy bear like animal in the Truffla forest!!  My husband is a big Teddy Bear that enjoys a good meal or two and doesn’t let life stress him.  He is just one of those guys you have to love and well, I do!!  The biggest barbaloot was caught inside of the Once-ler’s fridge eating butter and that did me and B in — We could not stop laughing!!

Please don’t let my family members prevent you from going to see this great movie!! Check it out and see if you can find any of your family members in it!!

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” The Lorax

3 responses to “The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

  1. Brandy Hutchinson says:

    Lol!!! It was so funny, because the ones we said reminded us of family members really did seem just like them! The bear eating butter really did look like terry at that moment and it was hilarious! And when the grandma was knocking people out the way with her cane, that was definitely Nana! You are right, it was better to try to find the funny in the movie instead if concentrate on the serious! Life is to short to be so serious all the time..laughter is good for the soul :)It seems like everything nowadays is focused on all the negative that is going on, you know like glass half empty, and well, I’m more of a glass half full kind of girl. I enjoy a good laugh, and we definitely got that while watching that movie!

  2. We went and saw it with Peter while the big boys were at a sleepover. It has always been my husbands favorite, we still have a VHS version! Thought it was cute and if your husband is the bear in the fridge, lucky girl.

  3. […] catch up on my sleep reading and some movies I have wanted to see.  The other day I went to see The Lorax with some amazing family.  The day before that I took my niece and my youngest daughter to see […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

