whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Mirror, Mirror: A Tale of Snow White

on April 17, 2012

Last week was Spring Break week for us, and I have really used this time to catch up on my sleep reading and some movies I have wanted to see.  The other day I went to see The Lorax with some amazing family.  The day before that I took my niece and my youngest daughter to see Mirror, Mirror which was a “version” of Snow White. I have to say that I was really interested in seeing Julie Roberts play the part of the evil stepmother, but didn’t expect too much as far as the plot.  Well, I thought Julie Roberts did a great job, but there was enough of a plot twist that held my attention too.

I have to say that I like how the newer movies have started to down play the “damsel in distress” archetype.  Don’t get me wrong.  I want my girls to be ladies, but at the same time, being a lady doesn’t mean being helpless.  In this movie, Snow White goes out to save her kingdom and becomes a SOLDIER.  She cares about the “common” people and stands up to what is wrong.  Yet, she is still beautiful and smart and still gets the hot prince, and she doesn’t need a kiss to awaken her!  She even comes across a bit more “with it” than her accident proned prince.  She actually rescues the prince in this version!

Of course, as with most movies, I believe this movie is another social commentary on consequences of a selfish greedy government.  But overall this is a kid-friendly movie. There is enough action for the boys and there are enough pretty dresses for the girls.  Most of the suggestive jokes go right over the kids heads just like the social commentary. I thought Snow White, played by Lilly Collins, and the evil step-mother, played by Julie Roberts, were well-done.  I felt the seven dwarves which don’t even have their typical names were a little lame though sometimes funny.

I know there is another Snow White movie coming out called Snow White and The Huntsman which looks more adult-like.

I will have to go see that one just to compare.  However, I feel Mirror,Mirror could be good for some simple basic entertainment, but it could also open up some discussion with older children.  Here are some ideas:

  • Families can talk about how this take on Snow White compares to other versions of the beloved fairy tale. In what ways is this Snow White more assertive than other representations of her? How are the dwarfs a bigger part of the story?
  • What does Mirror Mirror have to say about vanity? What are the literal and figurative costs of the queen’s vanity? Should it matter if you’re the most beautiful person around?
  • Why are princess tales so popular? Does this spin on the princess story have a more progressive message for girls than previous versions
There are several movies that seem to downplay the damsel in distress, but the newest one due out in June is Brave.  I have added that to my list as well!

7 responses to “Mirror, Mirror: A Tale of Snow White

  1. dannypuppet says:

    Thanks for the information. I’m hoping to take my girls to see this sometime this week. I personally like the princess who can take care of herself. Being a dad of two girls I don’t want them thinking they have to wait for a prince to come and rescue them.

  2. katejohns says:

    Sounds like you are becoming a movie reviewer. You manage to do it so well without irritating anyone.

  3. daddyranman says:

    Hmm, when this is available on Netflix my kid will be old enough to be mesmerized and us ready to watch- thanks for the recommendation!

  4. […] Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting « Mirror, Mirror: A Tale of Snow White Burned Biscuits » Apr […]

  5. […] Mirror, Mirror: A Tale of Snow White (whatsupyournose.wordpress.com) […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

