whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

The Hunger Games – The Books

on April 18, 2012
Music of The Lord of the Rings film trilogy

Music of The Lord of the Rings film trilogy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am not a big fan of most trilogies.  I feel that the middle book is always weak, and they are only written to capitalize on the money-making opportunity instead of the development of the story.  I did enjoy The Lord Of The Ring trilogy which I studied in college; however, I have never been able to watch the movies though I have heard that they were nicely done.  The next trilogy I read was The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  I also watched the movies, but I have to say that I don’t find the books very high in literary value, but the movies were well done.  I think I was drawn into this trilogy because of the perverseness and just had to see what happened next which some will say is a sign of a good book, but I am not so sure…. it might be a sign of my warpped mind!

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My latest trilogy endeavor is the popular Hunger Games.  I read the first book with one of my English classes the two weeks before Spring Break.  I was sucked in immediately!  I felt the characters were very well developed and the setting was realistic.  I have heard complaints that there wasn’t enough background information, but I disagree.  I could easily make the jump from our current world to a world where the land mass is smaller and food is scarce,  and there is a powerful crushing central government that harvests the remaining resources through slave tactics to prop up their good life.

Another part of the book that I could relate to was Katniss Everdeen’s, the female protagonist, internal conflict.  She feels very confident in who she is before the “reaping,” but after the reaping, she becomes aware that her confidence is an illusion, and she is not sure of who she is, how she fits into this world, and who she actually loves (Peeta or Gale).  This is very typical of most teenage girls as they transition from the safe world of home to a life of their own.  Just as in my review of Mirror, Mirror , this book down plays the “damsel in distress” archetype, and it is up to Katniss Everdeen to save the world – literally.

I quickly devoured the remaining two books over Spring Break Catching Fire, and Mockingjay. As expected, the middle book was slow, but necessary to complete the last book.  Again the strength of these two books lies in the development Katniss and her relationship with the world around her!

After reading the entire series, I realize that the author was driven by irony.  I am not going to spoil it for you — if you have read it, think about the reason Katniss ends up in the Hunger Games and then think of the irony of what happens near the end of the last book with Prim.  Needless to say, the odds were never in Katniss’ favor!!

I will review the movie in comparison to the books next post!

11 responses to “The Hunger Games – The Books

  1. dannypuppet says:

    Actually reading the first book right now. I like it….though I’m having a hard time understanding why my students (5th -8th grade) are attracted to it. While it hits my interests it does not seem to follow the trends of the books (like Twighlight) that they have been into recently. Almost seems to good a book with a subject matter that would not interest them.

  2. katejohns says:

    Read the books, loved the first two, not the third. Great movie, even though people are upset about kids killing kids. But that’s not what it is about. Will write a blog about it when i have the time.

  3. Jeyna Grace says:

    I couldnt believe what happened to Prim. Of all people, why prim?!

  4. […] Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting « The Hunger Games – The Books Apr […]

  5. Kara says:

    I also read this trilogy in the last few weeks. I was not in love with the series after reading the first book, but when one of my students told me that it was not worth reading the rest of the series beacuse of the way the series ended, I had to read further to see what was so upsetting. I, too, found the second book to be slow, but I was determined to figure out what happened. Now that I know, I am not sure how I feel about it. I have heard so many people say that they were disappointed with the ending, but I was not. I feel like the story HAD to end the way that it did.
    I have not yet seen the movie. I hope to drag my husband to see it with me soon.

  6. Hi, thanks for stopping by The Order Expert blog and for liking “Organizing Tip: Organizing a Drawer…To Close It!” Thanks for the review of the Hunger Game books. I’ve been considering reading them with all the promotion for the movies. I think I might just pick one up soon. Thanks! Cheers, Rashelle

  7. […] week I wrote about the Hunger Games Trilogy.  Then as Fa was recovering from the stomach flu we were watching America’s Funniest […]

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

