whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

Hunger Games – The Movie

on April 19, 2012
The Hunger Games (film)

The Hunger Games (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday I reviewed Hunger Games the books which I devoured over Spring Break.  I promised to review the movie which I went to watch Sunday April 15 with my oldest daughter.  K went to the midnight premier of the movie a few weeks ago, but she was willing to humor her old mom and go with me to see it.  Let me just say right off the bat the movie was close to the plot line which is quite unusual in my opinion when a book is made into the movie; yet, the movie was sorely lacking.

I have heard people give rave reviews of the movie — not so much my opinion though.  I was completely disappointed when I left the movie theater probably because I was emotionally invested in the books.  My first compliant was the jerky filming that occurred at the beginning of the movie.  I quietly whispered to K, “I think the jerkiness symbolizes the instability of the entire situation.”  K quietly nodded as if she was considering my point and was going to rebut when she leaned over and responded in the normal teenage wisdom, “I thought it represented the fact the cameraman was having a hard time holding on to the camera.”  Needless to say, it was all down hill after that.

My second compliant was that the characters were flat and dull.  I didn’t feel any of the passion that exuding from Katniss Everdeen in the book.  I expected a tomboyish girl that firmly stood her ground and lived with her heart on her sleeve.  Instead I got a young lady, that at all times seemed unsure of herself and very frightened.  I never even bought in to the relationship with Peeta or Gale.  She just kind of reminded me of a limp noodle!!

My third complaint was that the background information was vital to the movie.  In the books, I felt I had enough information to make the jump from our current world to a world where the land mass is smaller and food is scarce,  and there is a powerful crushing central government that harvests the remaining resources through slave tactics to prop up their good life.  As I watched the movie, I kept wanting to know more about each of the districts that the tributes represented and how they reached this point in time.  I understand that the video they showed in the reaping was suppose to provide that information, but I wanted to see it from the prospective of one of the young characters — Katniss, Peeta, Gale.  Of course, in the book, there was narration that painted those pictures for me, but when I left the movie theater, I told K, “If you had not read the books, you completely wouldn’t understand the meaning of some of the other parts.”

Finally, I didn’t like the few changes they made from the book to the movie such as Sennaca being left with night lock or the elimination of Madge.  Madge was important considering she was the only female friend that Katniss had.  Madge added another dimension to Katniss.  All I can say is that a man most of made the movie and totally didn’t understand the importance of our “girlfriends” and how they complete us!

There were a few things I liked: I liked the wolf things!!  They scared the pee out of me literally.  I liked how cute Gale was!  I liked how Cinna was portrayed very true to character.  I liked Effie Trinket!  I liked the selection at the reaping (this was the only part of the movie that made me cry)!   I liked that I got to go with K.

Overall, it was entertaining.  If I would have known now what I knew then, I would have waited to see this movie on DVD from Redbox or on Netflix.  Note to self — make sure to see the next two movies from the series on Netflix.

One final note — I still firmly believe that the books are always better than the movie!!

“May the odds be ever in your favor!”

4 responses to “Hunger Games – The Movie

  1. My wife is changing me into being more of a fiction reader. This will be the first time I’d read the book before seeing the movie. I have a strange feeling I’ll see it much as you did. It’s hard to see how Hollywood could to a movie on this book and not miss out on more than a few things. In fact, I’m sure of it. My daughter Emma has read the book 3 times and has already picked up on many differences in the movie, and she’s only seen the trailers.

    Oh no! I’ve become like one of you (books are alway better than the movie)!

  2. gdemarco89 says:

    I did not read the book, but I saw the movie and I did not enjoy it at all! I thought the camera was jerky all throughout the movie, making me feel sick. I also needed my husband to explain all of the back story to me.

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!

