whatsupyournose

The Good, The Bad, and The Hilarious of Parenting

The New Blogging Diet

on April 9, 2012

OHH how I have missed my blog.  I guess it has been about 2 weeks since I posted.  I read somewhere to blog ahead, and for a while that worked well for me.  I was able to get about two weeks ahead of myself, but then life caught up with me, and I didn’t post.  Therefore, I haven’t blogged in a while, but during that “off” time I learned a lot about why I like to blog.

Originally, I started blogging to share funny stores about my family, but as time went on, I found other things to write about.  I read a lot more and explored new ideas and concepts.  I tell you it was fun.  I have always liked to write, and I realize that I will never be a professional writer, but writing is my creative release, and we all need one.

Well, around the beginning of March, I started getting random compliments from my friends and colleagues.  I was at the copier one day when a substitute teacher that I know pretty well sidled up next to me and said, “I don’t know what you are doing, but you look great!”  I kinda looked around to make sure she was talking to me.  Once I realized I was the only other person in the room, I thanked her and hurried to the bathroom to see what I had done with my makeup.

A few days later as I sat in a room with some of my great colleagues a discussion about weight came up.  I made some self-deprecating remark about my rather large rear end.  Very quickly one of my colleagues said very seriously, “What are you talking about!!!  You have lost a ton of weight.”  I turned around quickly to try and find it since I didn’t know I had lost it!!

Then one morning another colleague caught me going in my classroom and said, “How much weight have you lost and how are you doing it?”  Needless to say, I looked around again to make sure she was talking to me, but I was the only one in the room.  I responded very confidently this time and said, “I don’t know I haven’t weighed myself in 6 months, and I have no idea what I am doing?” Because to be honest, I didn’t!!

After all of that, I had to reflect for a while to see if I was doing anything.  First, I weighed myself to make sure I hadn’t lost any weight, and sure enough, it was all right there.  Then I thought about what I was doing differently and the only thing I could come up with was that I had been blogging for a month!!  That was it — my silly little blog had caused me to lose weight.  Well, not really, but the outlet from my writing had caused me to do something I enjoyed.  I caused me to laugh more; it had caused me to enjoy my blessings; it had caused me to talk about ideas that scared me; it had lightened my mental and spiritual load and made me look happier which resulted in people thinking I had done something drastic such as losing weight.

My compliments have dwindled since I stopped writing, but I am BACK!!  Back on the blog diet!!  I encourage everyone to find something that you enjoy and that makes you happy and JUST DO IT!!


6 responses to “The New Blogging Diet

  1. dannypuppet says:

    Good to see you back. Missed your blogs.

  2. danbalva says:

    Glad to see we both came back at the same time!

  3. Love this motivation for blogging! I took a pretty long break a few months back and I didn’t noticed it in my psyche. Looking forward to future posts!

Very interested to hear you thoughts so leave a reply!